These cookies are necessary for the basic functions of the shop.
"Allow all cookies" cookie
"Decline all cookies" cookie
These cookies are used to make the shopping experience even more appealing, for example for the recognition of the visitor.
Statistics & Tracking
Google Tag Manager
Track device being used
Weingut Fritz Haag
The long-established and widely known Fritz Haag winery is located in the heart of the middle Mosel valley. The winery was first mentioned in documents as early as 1605. At that time, the place was still called Dusemond, which means “sweet hill” or “sweet mountain”. In 1925, Dusemond was renamed Brauneberg. This is a tribute to the color of the iron layers in the slate soils in this section of the Mosel river and was primarily intended to further establish the reputation of its famous vineyards “Brauneberger Juffer Sonnenuhr” and “Brauneberger Juffer”.
The name of the very famous site “Juffer” translated means old maid or virgin and dates back to 1790. The owner of the exceptional vineyards was a nobleman who went by the name of Wunderlich. He was the chamberlain of the Palatine Elector. This Wunderlich had three daughters, all of whom remained unmarried. One day they took over the cultivation of the vineyards and with that the name “Brauneberger Juffer” was set. The wines soon became known and famous all over the world. The vineyards are considered true pearls of the Mosel Wine region.
Since 1965, the Fritz Haag winery was very successfully managed by Wilhelm Haag and gained worldwide fame. Wilhelm Haag was the first “Winemaker of the Year”, introduced in 1994 by the renowned Gault&Millau Wine Guide. A highly coveted award it was and still is today.
With the year 2005 came the takeover of the winery by Oliver Haag with the goal of continuing his father’s efforts and continuing to successfully guide the winery into the future. Today, the winery covers 28 ha, of which about 27.5 ha are planted with Riesling.